Is Baking Crafting?

For this blog, we’re going with yes!  It’s Cinco de Mayo today and that means two things: drinking tequila for breakfast is completely acceptable AND I get to make themed cupcakes.  Mexican hot chocolate cupcakes to be exact.

The first thing I did was gather my ingredients like so:

IMG_1662

Some people skip this step, but I’m NOTORIOUS (like Biggie) for forgetting one key ingredient!

(not pictured: a straight up box of cupcake mix. I call it, “plan B”.  I always have a plan B – the “oh shit” box, if you will.  It’s good for baking and for life.  I mean, boxed cupcakes are definitely not as good as homemade, but it’s WAY better than no cupcakes at all.

In case you missed the wine cork planter post, wine is a necessity for ANY craft.

IMG_1664

Uh, I do a LOT of “crafting”.

IMG_1665

Here is the recipe I used for the cupcakes: Cupcakes!

I also added some chili powder for extra kick (about 1/4 a teaspoon is all you need).

I put the wet ingredients into Big Blue (some people have kids…I have a blue Kitchenaid mixer that I’ve named).  I also just now learned how to use Boomerang!

 photo mix_zpsg6qh0nae.gif

Then I mixed the dry ingredients.  Sure, you can use one of those fancy flour sifters with the handle.  I use a pasta strainer.  It works and it’s dual purpose. Also, I feel like an old timey gold miner when I’m shaking it, but that might be the wine hitting me.

IMG_1671

I wish I was one of those people that could “clean as they go”.  Clearly, I am not.

IMG_1673

Yay – dry ingredients sifted and whisked!  Slow motion combining!  Also, slow motion how my kitchen gets so messy.

 photo giphy 7_zpsnudv6fad.gif

Now you get to fill the cupcake liners! I am prone to overfilling.  Seriously you only want to go to 3/4 full at the most.  This is one of the only times in life that you want a muffin top!

You can use the 16-18 minutes to clean, or to drink wine and reflect on your life.  I used my time to swipe through Tinder.  One super like and 3 reasons to give up dating all together!

Once the cupcakes come out of the oven, you need to let them cool completely before moving on to the next step.  More time to drink and swipe!

So for the filling and the icing, I’m going rogue. The recipe doesn’t call for caramel in the middle of these cupcakes, but after swiping through Tinder for the last hour, I feel the world could use a little more sweetness.  Now, you COULD make your own caramel.  I’ve learned the hard way that I can’t.  I don’t know why it’s impossible for me, but God has granted me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change.  So I bought it.

IMG_1685

Also, I don’t really use recipes for frosting.   I used 4 sticks of butter and at least one bag of powdered sugar.  Then I scooped in cocoa until it tasted good – super scientific, I know. Oh, I also added some of the chili powder. Just keep adding ingredients until the texture and the taste is how you like it.

IMG_1687

Pro tip: keep the dog away from the kitchen when you’re adding powdered sugar to the mixer.

IMG_1688

Then just throw the icing into an icing bag (I use disposable and a giant tip) and ice those suckers.

IMG_1690

I put some crushed red pepper on them for more spice (and because it’s pretty) and BAM:

IMG_1692 (2)

 

Leave a Reply

